William E. Fox Award

William E. Fox joined the Inglewood Fire Department on September 1, 1939. He spent 29 years, from September 1, 1940 to January 1, 1969, as an officer in the Fire Prevention Office. He was promoted to Battalion Chief, serving to July 17, 1971 when he retired. His commitment to teaching the public to be safe from fire, earned him the affectionate titles of “Mr. Inglewood” and “Mr. Fire Prevention” among the young people and citizens of the community.

Captain Fox was president in 1948-1950 of the Harbor District Fireman’s Association; was president in 1949-1950 of the Southern California Conference of Fire Prevention Inspectors. He helped organize the California Conference of Arson Investigators and was President from 1957-1958. He also assisted in the organization of the Fire Prevention Section of California Fire Chiefs Association and served as President.

Aside from his fire service involvement, he served 29 years on the Inglewood Employees Credit Union, serving 6 years as President; was an active member of the Optimists, Elks and Junior Chamber of Commerce; served on committees for the YMCA; assisted in awarding scholarships, and serving as President for the American Field Service Organization (AFS); member and President of local Red Cross Chapter; and served on the Board of Directors of the Centinela Valley Historial Society.

This southern division award was created to exemplify outstanding efforts and development in the field of fire prevention. The award states:

“In recognition of outstanding leadership, vision and continued dedication to the fire service and the causes of life safety and fire protection.”

In This Section

Award Recipients

2021  Kevin Reinertson
2020  Ray Bizal
2019  Stuart Tom
2018  Randy Metz
2017  Bruce Lecair
2016  James Carver
2015  Robert Espinosa
2014  Tonya Hoover
2013  Tommy Thompson
2012  Laura Blaul
2010  Ken Kraus
2009  Rick Terry
1997  Bill Hopple
1995  Sam Husoe